ISO 26000 home

The framework

The essentials of the ISO 26000 Framework

The essentials of the ISO 26000 Framework

The essentials of the ISO 26000 Framework consist of four main building blocks

Block 1: Seven SR principles (Why)

Clause 4 of ISO 26000 defines the seven fundamental SR principles that an organization should take into account when shaping social responsibility. These principles are the ethical umbrella for every organization and are as follows:

  1. Accountability
  2. Transparency
  3. Ethical behaviour
  4. Respect for stakeholder interests
  5. Respect for the rule of law
  6. Respect for international norms of behaviour
  7. Respect for human rights

Block 2: Recognizing SR, engaging stakeholders and sphere of influence (Who)

According to ISO 26000, an organization's recognition of SR and engagement of stakeholders are two fundamental aspects of SR. Recognizing SR means identifying the impact of a company's own decisions and activities and those of other organizations in the chain and scope. An organization should also be aware of this impact on the interests and needs of its stakeholders. Identifying and engaging stakeholders are, therefore, of central importance when organizations want to implement SR. This is described in Clause 5 of the practical guide.

Block 3: Seven core subjects and 37 SR issues (What)

ISO 26000 distinguishes seven SR core subjects. These are extensively described in Clause 6 of the practical guide. The seven core subjects are :

  1. Organizational governance
  2. Human rights
  3. Labour practices
  4. The environment
  5. Fair operating practices
  6. Consumer issues
  7. Community involvement and development

The basic idea, considerations, principles, description of the issues and the related actions and expectations of each core subject are described. The core subjects are dynamic, i.e. they can change as a result of a change in opinions on the environment (Planet) and/or society (People). The economic cornerstone of SR (Profit) is part of all seven core subjects, as is the focus on chain management.

Block 4: Integration of SR throughout the whole organization and sphere of influence (How)

Clause 7 of ISO 26000 extensively addresses the integration of SR in an organization (putting into practice). It includes points of reference in logical (not compulsory) order. Making SR a component of the organization's management system is obvious.

Wrap up

These four building blocks of ISO 26000 stand for:

  • Why (C)SR? (the ethical umbrella for every organization)
  • Who should be involved?
  • What is (C)SR?
  • How to impement (C)SR?

Framework overview figure

Framework overview figure

The overall ISO 26000 framework figure and its essentials.

Download it as PowerPoint slides.

Overview ISO 26000 activties

Overview ISO 26000 activties

Profit from this overview brochure of activties on application and linkages of ISO 26000. Drafted by ISO PPO Strategic Advisory Group.

Download it as PDF.

Waterboard Aa en Maas, Nanny Ottevanger

Waterboard Aa en Maas, Nanny Ottevanger

Nanny Ottevanger, QHSE Expert, Waterboard Aa en Maas:

"ISO 26000 immediately appealed to me. I believe in a structural approach. ISO 26000 offers guidance within this context".